Illinois Attorney General Logo

Office of the
Illinois Attorney General
Kwame Raoul

Illinois Attorney General Logo


April 29, 2024

Raoul and Bipartisan Coalition Support Organization’s Critical Work Delivering Legal Services to Low-Income Americans Across the Nation

Chicago – Attorney General Kwame Raoul, as part of a bipartisan coalition of 39 attorneys general, urged Congress to allocate the maximum amount of funding for the grant-making organization Legal Services Corporation (LSC) in the FY2025 budget. 

 Each year, LSC awards field grants to a network of nonprofit legal service providers who extend legal assistance to low-income Americans in every county, state and territory of the United States. In a letter submitted by the National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) to the leaders of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees, Raoul and the attorneys general highlight the critical work performed by LSC’s grantees across the nation, from urban centers to small towns.

“The impact of LSC’s work is vital and delivers much-needed results to nearly 2 million individuals and families annually who otherwise would not have access to civil justice,” Raoul said. “I join my fellow attorneys general in our commitment to equal access to justice, and I urge Congress to prioritize investment in LSC.”

 The coalition’s broad bipartisan appeal to Congress underscores the urgent call for legal services crucial to protecting the homes, health and safety of low-income Americans. LSC-funded programs assist individuals and families in greatest need of services – those whose household incomes fall at or below 125% of federal poverty guidelines and who are facing critical legal challenges. Veterans and military families, struggling renters and homeowners, domestic violence survivors, and rural and elderly Americans are among those vulnerable populations served by LSC.

 Attorney General Raoul was joined in signing the letter by the attorneys general of Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Georgia, Florida, Hawaii, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, the Northern Mariana Islands, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.