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Crime Victim Compensation: 
Serving Older Victims

of Violent Crime

Violent crime is a senseless, often random act, and we see far too much of it in today’s society. It is no longer
enough to ensure that offenders receive the harshest punishment under the law. Victims and their families need our
support as they attempt to rebuild lives torn apart by tragedy.

- Attorney General Lisa Madigan

What is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?

The Crime Victims Compensation Act offers financial assistance for victims of violent crime.  As a

victim of a crime in the State of Illinois, you may be eligible to receive compensation up to $27,000

for medical and hospital expenses, counseling, loss of earnings, tuition reimbursement, prosthetic

appliances and accessibility costs, replacement costs, temporary lodging or relocation, funeral expens-

es, and crime scene clean-up.

What types of medical and hospital bills are covered?

Any medical bills related to the crime, including counseling, prescriptions, and appropriate dental

work, are covered.

What type of benefits are covered if the victim resides in a nursing home?

Any out-of-pocket expenses for medical and hospital care, prescriptions, and counseling resulting

from the crime are covered by the program.  Any equipment costs, such as wheelchairs, beds, or

prosthetic appliances, can also be reimbursed by the program. 

What type of medical and hospital expenses are covered if I receive Medicare or Medicaid?

Any medical or hospital bills resulting from the crime that are not covered by Medicare or Medicaid

can be compensated, up to the maximum compensation of $27,000.

What are replacement costs?

Reimbursement is available for eyeglasses, for clothing/bedding used as evidence, and for locks/win-

dows that were damaged as a result of the incident.  The items must be replaced and receipts will be

required. 

What types of funeral and burial expenses are covered?

Covered expenses include funeral and burial costs, as well as travel and transport costs to survivors of

homicide victims to secure bodies and transport them for burial.  These expenses are compensated up

to a maximum of $5,000.



What type of reimbursement is available if I have legal custody of minor children because of the death of their
parent or guardian resulting from a crime?

You may be eligible to receive compensation for the following: loss of support provided for the child

by the deceased parent; funeral and burial costs; counseling; and child care.

What are the requirements for me to be eligible for compensation?

The crime must be reported to law enforcement officials within 72 hours, within 7 days for sexual

offenses, or in a timely manner under the circumstances; the victim must cooperate with law enforce-

ment officials in the apprehension and prosecution of the offender, and with the Office of the

Attorney General to verify expenses; the victim must exhaust all other sources of financial recovery;

and the victim must not have contributed to his or her injury through wrongful conduct or provoca-

tion.

How do I file a claim? 

To file a claim, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at (800) 228-3368.

To obtain statewide service referrals or check the status of your

compensation claim, please contact our office at:

Illinois Attorney General Lisa Madigan
Crime Victims Compensation Bureau
100 W. Randolph Street, 13th Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60601
(800) 228-3368 
www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov

Chicago

1-800-386-5438 

TTY: 1-800-964-3013 

Springfield

1-800-243-0618

TTY: 877-844-5461

Carbondale

1-800-243-0607 

TTY: 877-675-9339
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Visit our Web site at www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov.




