Skip Navigation
Illinois Attorney General Kwame Raoul
Home | Careers | Press Room | Opinions | Español | Other Languages | Contact Us

May 3, 2019


Chicago — Attorney General Kwame Raoul joined a coalition of attorneys general and New York City in opposing the Department of Energy’s (DOE) proposal to overturn energy efficiency requirements for certain lightbulbs.

In comments submitted today, Raoul and the coalition assert that the DOE’s proposal would hurt consumers who would no longer receive the economic benefits from these savings. The proposal by the DOE would exclude decorative general service and incandescent lightbulbs from meeting heightened minimum energy efficiency requirements. These requirements – which create significant energy savings for consumers – were imposed by the Energy Policy and Conservation Act during the Obama administration.

“The Department of Energy has proposed to roll back lightbulb regulations that both save consumers money on their power bills and cause enormous reductions in climate change-causing carbon emissions,” Raoul said. “We cannot afford to go backwards and repeal this critically important rule.”

Raoul and the coalition urge the DOE to maintain the stricter definitions enacted in 2017, which included decorative lightbulbs, such as candelabras and globe lamps. The original rule prohibits retailers from selling lightbulbs, including these decorative types of bulbs, that do not meet the minimum standard of 45 lumens per watt. In its current proposal, the DOE would remove decorative lightbulbs from those defined under the rule. The proposal would cost consumers $12 billion each year in lost electricity savings by 2025, or $100 per household per year.

Raoul and the attorneys general argue that by reversing the 2017 Lamp Rules, the DOE would enact a less stringent standard in violation of the Energy Policy and Conservation Act. In addition, the attorneys general point out that the DOE’s proposal is unlawful under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Joining Raoul in submitting the comments are the attorneys general of California, Colorado, Connecticut, the District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, as well as New York City.


Return to May 2019 Press Releases

go to top of page

© 2020 Illinois Attorney General HomePrivacy Policy Contact Us