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Sentencing -~ Section 6-303,
ch. 95 1/2 is Properly Classifi
as a Class A Misdemeanor Under
Unified Code of Corrections.

- Honorable John G. Sattsg
State's Attorney, LivifAg
Pontiac Savings & Loar
Pontiac, Illinois 6176

Dear Mr. Satter
B your letter whérein'you state:

than sever days nor more than one year and the
imposition of a fine in addition thereto of not
moxe than $1,000,00. Upon the adoption of the
Unified Code of Corrections this Statute among
‘others was amended to classify the offense. As
so amended the offense of driving while a license
is suspended or revoked is a Class A Misdemeanor
and the offender ‘shall be imprisoned for not
less than seven days‘.
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* * % Section 6-303 (has been interpreted) to
require the imposition of a seven day jail
sentence only if imprisonment is the sentence
selected. * * * (It has been argued) that if
the sentence is for probation, conditional dige
charge, periodic imprisonment, or a fine the
minimum pericd of seven days is not applicable.
It is our position that the legislative de~
cision in using the mandatory language ‘and
‘shall be imprisoned for not less than seven
days’ is a clear indication that this offense

- 18 to be treated more seriously than other
Class A Misdemeanors. The imposition of a
mexre f£ine, or of probation or conditional dis-~
c¢harge, divests the Statute of its intended
severity. It also necessarily leads to the
incongrucus result of allowing the imposition
of a $10.00 or a §1.00 fine and yet if (a)
Court imposes imprisonment it cannot impose

a sentence of less than seven days.

* & =

In the absence of controlling case decisions .
your opinion on this matter would be of great
help. Thank you for your consideration."

Section 6-303 of the Illinois Vehicle Code (Ill. Rev.
Stat. 1973, ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-~303) reads as follows:

“(a) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on
any highway of this State at a time when his
drivers license or permit or privilege so to
do or his privilege to obtain a license or per-~
mit under this Act is revoked or suspended as
provided by this Act or any other Act, except
as may be allowed by a restricted driving per-

mit issued under this Act, shall be guilty of
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a Class A misdemeanor and shall be imprisoned
for not less than 7 daya.” (Emphasis added.)

The sentencing provisions for those convicted of a Class A
misdemeanor under the Unified Code of Corrections are clearly
cutlined by statute. Section 5-8~3 of the Unified Code of
Corrections (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1973, c¢h. 38, par. 1005-8-3) reads;
“(a) A sentence of imprisonment for a misde-
neanox shall be for a determinate term accordw
ing to the following limjtations:
(1) for a Class A misdemeanor, for
any texm less than one yeary; % + @
Section 5~9-1 of the Unified Code of Corrections (Ill. Rev.
Stat, 1973, ch, 38, par. 1005~-9-1) states:
"{a) An offender may be sentenced to pay a
fine which shall not exceed for each offense:
* % » (2) for a Class A misdemeanor,
$1,000; * & @°
The apparent intention of the legislature was to
codify the penalty that existed for the same offense under the
0ld Criminal Code by casting it into the new nomenclature of
the Unified Code of Corrections. The addition of the language
"and shall be imprisoned for not less than 7 days" merely pro-
vides for a minimun term pericd of imprisonment in order to

conform with the old law. This particular change is one of
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terminology, relating the specific offense to a broad category
of classification and is not substantive in terms of legislative
intent. |

It is a cardinal rule of construction that a statute
should be construed so as to ascertain and give effect to the

intention of the General Assembly expressed in the statutae.

trict ¥o. 15 v. ar;gg;g. 143 N.E, 24 555, 11 I1l. 24 411 (1957).)
A statute, the language of which clearly expresses the legisla-
tive intent must be construed to give effect to such intent. If
- more than one construction is possgible in ascertaining the intent,
one nay consider the conseguences of a particular construction
and should aveid the one which causes cbjectionable consequences.
City of Nameoki v. Granite City, 408 Ill, 33, 95 N.E. 24 920 (1951).
My predecessor ruled (1962 Op. Atty. Gen., 410) that
persons convicted of driving while theirx opa:atcz‘s license is
revoked or suspended, if otherwise qualified may be given pro-
bation at the discretion of the court; confinement in jail, ﬁpon
conviction is not necessary. While that opinion was rendered in

reference to section 6-303 (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1961, ch. 95 1/2,
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par, 144), it is my belief that its analysis remains equally
compelling under sections 5-5-3, 5-6-1, 5-6-2, and 5-6-3 of the
Unified Code of Corrections. Ill. Rev. Stat. 1973, ch. 38, pars.
© 1005-5-3, 1005-6-1, 1005-6-2, 1005-6~3,

Section 6-303 of the Illinois Vehicle Law of 1957 (Ill.
Rév. Stat. 1961, ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-303) stated in.parﬁz

“(a) Any person who drives a motor vehicle

on any highway of this State at a time when
his operator's or chauffeur's license or per-
mit or privilege so to do or his privilege to
ocbtain a license or permit under this Act is
revoked or suspended as provided by this Act
or any other Act, except as may be allowed by
a restricted driving permit issued under this
Act, shall be punished by imprisonment for not
less than 7 days nor more than 1 year and there
may be imposed in addition thereto a fine of
not more than $1,000."

Section 47 of “AN ACT in relation to the regulation
of traffic” (Ill. Rev. 8tat. 1961, ch. 95 1/2, par. 144) stated
in relevant part:

“{(c) Every person who is convicted of a vio-
lation of this section shall be punished by
imprisonment for not less than 2 days nor morxe
than 1 year, or by fine of not less than 8100
nor more than $1000 or by both such fine and
imprisonment. On a second or subseguent con-
viction he shall be punished by imprisonment
for not less than 90 days nor more than 1l year,
and, in the diecretion of the court, 2 fine of
not more than $1000."
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Section 7-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961 (I1l. Rev.
Stat. 1961, ch. 38, par. 117-1) provided:

8§ 117-1, Admismsion to Probation,

(a) A person who has been found guilty of any
offense except a capital offense, the sale of
narcotics or rape may be admitted to probation
when it appears that:

-{1) The defendant is not likely to cowm-
mit another offense;

'(2) The public interest does not require
that the defendant receive the penalty provided
for the offense; and

(3) The rehabilitation of the defendant
does not require that he receive the penalty
provided for the offense.

{(b) The term of probation may be for any period
not less than 6 months and not to exceed 5 years.
The court may for good cause extend the period of
probation for not more than an additional 2 years.
{(c) A person admitted to probation shall remain
subject to the jurisdiction of the court.

(&} The judgment of guilty entered prior to the
admission of defendant to probation shall be a
final judgment subject to review under Article 121
of this Code. 1963, aug. 14, Laws 1963, p. 2836,
5117“‘1v v

Section 7-2 of the Criminal Code of 1961 (Ill. Rev.
Stat. 1961, ch. 38, par. 117-2) read as follows:

"§ 117-2., Conditions of Probation.
(a) A person admjtted to probation shall be sub-
ject to the following conditions:
{1) Not violate any penal statute or ordi-
nance of any jurisdiction.
{(2) Not leave the State without the consent
of the court,
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(3) Make a report to such person or agency
and at such times as the court may direct and
shall appear in person before the court at such
time as the court may direct.

(4) Execute a recognizance in accordance
with the provisions of Article 110 of this Code.
(b} A person admitted to probation may be sube
ject to the following conditions:

(1) Imprisoned in a place of confinement
other than a penitentiary for a period not to
exceed one year and in no event to exceed the
maximum penalty provided for the offense.

(2) pPay within a period set by the court
a fine not to exceed the maximum provided for
the offense.

(3) Pay the cost of the proceedings as set
by the court,

(4) Make restitution or reparation within
the period of probation in an amount not to ex~-
ceed actual loss or damage to property or medical
expense resulting from bodily injury to person.

(5) Perform or refrain from performing such
other acts as may be ordered by the court. 1963,
Aug. 14, Laws 1963, p. 2836, §117-2."

Section 5-5~3 of the Unified Code of Corrections (I1ll.
Rev. Stat. 1973, ch. 38, par. 1005-5-3), states in part:

"(d) Wwhen a defendant is convicted of a felony
or misdemeanor, the court may sentence such
defendant to:

(1) a period of probation or conditional
discharge except in cases of murder, rape, armed
robbery, violation of Sections 401 (a), 402(a),
405(a) or 407 of the Illinois Controlled Sub-
stances Act or violation of Section 9 of the

Cannabis Control Act;
*® & w0




Honorable John G. Satter, Jr. - 8.

This section reflects the position taken by Illinois courts
since Pegple v. Mols, 415 Ill. 183, that punishment through
incarceration should not be demanded in all criminal cases and
that judges nhould be permitted to 1ndividualize puniahment to
xehahilitate criminala and thereby to banofit society. (415 I1l.
at 188.) While driving with a suspended license is clearly a
serious offense, I must conclude that the courts of record in
Illinois retain under the Unified Code of Corrections a discre-
tionary authority to grant probation to convicted persons. 1In
imposing a probationary period, courts may be guided by sec-
tions 5-6~1, 5-6-~2, and 5-6-3 of the Unified Code of Corrections
(Ill. Rev. Stat. 1973, ch. 38, pars. 1005~6-1, 1005-6-2, 1005-6-3)
which state in part:
“§ 1005-6~1. Sentences of probation and of
conditional discharge.
(a) The court shall impose a eentence of impris-
onment upon an offender if, having regard to the
nature and circumstance of the offense, and to the
history, character and condition of the offender,
the court is of the opinion that:
(1) his imprisonment is necessary for the
protection of the public: or
(2) the offender is in need of correctional

treatment that can most effectively be provided by
a sentence to imprisonment; or
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(3) probation or conditional diacharge
would deprecate seriousness of the offender's
conduct and would bde inconsistent with the
ends of justice.

(b) The court may impose a sentence of condie
tional discharge for an offense if the court is
of the opinion that neither a sentence of in-
prisonment nor of probation supervision ia appro-~
priate.

§ 1005-6-2. Incidents of probation and of
conditional discharge.
(a) When an offender is sentenced to probation
or conditional discharge, the court shall impose
a peried under paragraph (b) of this Section,
and shall specify the conditions under Section
5“6‘3 .
(k) Unless terminated sooner as provided in
paragraph (c) of this Section, the peried of
probation or conditional diacharge shall be as
follows:

(1) for a felony, not to exceed 5 ysars;

(2) for a misdemeanor, not to exceed 2
years;

(3) for a petty offense, not to exceed
one year.
Multiple terms of probation impoued at the same
time shall run concourrently.

$ 1005-6-3. Conditions of probation and of
conditional discharge.
{(a) The conditions of prcbation and of condi~-
tional discharge shall be that the person:
: (1) not violate any criminal statute of

any jurisdiction; and

(2) make a report to and appear in person
before such person or agency asg directed by the
court,."”
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It is clear from the above cited statutory scheme that
the altarnativa»congtruction of section 6-303 of the Illinois
Vehicle Code (Ill. Rev. Stat._'1§7‘3, ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-303) ten-
dered in your letter would véiy the plain and manifest meaning
of the 1angnagé used in thé'statute. To say that the mere addi-
tion of the phrase "and shall be imprisoned for not less than
seven days® means that, in terms of sentence, for section 6~303
offenses, all other forms of disposition (including fine, pxoba-
tion, condition discharge) are repealed, and that incarceration
is mandatory, regardless of the circumstances attendant the sen-
tencing determination, is to render the enactment mischievous,
If such were a;lowe&. the punishment for the commission of a
Clags A misdemeanor would mandate a disposition more serious and
severe than most felony grade offenses. Where language employed
aduits of two constructions, one éf which makes the enactment
absurd, if not mischievous, while the other renders it reason-
able and wholesome, the construction which leads to an absurd

result should be avoided. Kloss v. Suburban Cook County Tuber-

culosis Sanitarium Dist., 404 I1l1. 87, 88 H.E., 24 89 (1949):
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People ex rel. Barrett v. Thillens, 400 Iil, 224, 79 N.E. 24
609 (1948); In re Abell's Estate, 395 Ill. 337, 70 N.E. 2d 252
(1947)., |

iinally, in relation to your gquestion concerning the
applicability of the.aaven dﬁy limit to periodiéiimpriaomment,
vit is my’opiniah that éha intent of the legislatare, in promule
gating section 6-303 éf the céda, was to requi#e that where a
trial judge imposed a period of incarceration, that such period
be for not less than seven days, Paeriodic imprisonment is perul
mitted by section 5«5-3 of the Unified cOﬁe.of Corrections (Ill.
Rav. Stat. 1973, ch. 38, par. 1005-5-3) in all cases where defen-
dant has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor. Unlike the
other subparagraphs of the authorizing disposition section, the
paragraph permitting periodic imprisonment does not require a
judicial determination as to the convicted's character, the
nature of the offense, or the likelihood of rehabilitation. It
follows, therefore, that periodic imprisonment should be required
to be of the same length as non-periodic imprisonment.

Yor the aforementioned reasons, I am of the opinion

that a violation under section 6-303 of the XIllinois Vehicle
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Code (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1973, ch. 95 1/2, par. 6-303) is to be
treated as an ordinary Class A Misdemeanor under the Unified
Code of Corrections for all purposes with the one exception
béing that if imprisonment is the actual sentence imposed, then
such incarceration cannot be for a period of less than seven
days. |

Very truly yours,

ATTORNEY GENERAL




