
TIPS TO STREAMLINE YOUR ILLINOIS RENEWAL 
Avoid delays by checking the points below before you file 

 
 1. Send correct payment:   

The renewal fee is $100.00 and must be made in check payable to the 
Illinois Attorney General or the State of Illinois. This fee covers all changes 
made to the disclosure document; a separate fee is not required for each 
change. If the Franchisor has multiple registrations, please submit a 
separate check for each registration.  

 
 2. Include the correct forms: 

The Uniform Franchise Registration Application, Franchise Seller 
Disclosure Form(s), and the Consent of Accountant must be filed each 
year.  The Franchisor’s Costs and Sources of Funds and the Uniform 
Consent to Service of Process must be filed only if there is a change to 
the one currently on file with the Administrator.  All of these forms can be 
found on the Attorney General’s website at 
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov and clicking on “Protecting Consumers” 
and then on “Franchise Information and Publications.”  Use the 
“downloadable forms.” 

 
 3. Consent of Accountant: 

The Consent of Accountant for the most recent audit report must track the 
language required by the NASAA Guidelines.  Be certain it correctly 
discloses the issuance date of the disclosure document. 

 
 4. Submit a proper blackline: 

File two complete copies of the disclosure document, one of which has 
been clearly marked to show the revisions.  The only acceptable means of 
“marking” the changes in the disclosure document is to underline in black 
all new disclosure and to strike-out in black all deleted disclosure. Do not 
file bound copies of the disclosure document; a rubber band or binder clip 
is recommended. Make certain that the disclosure document is properly 
compiled.  It is not necessary to separate each exhibit and the forms 
referred to number 2 above should not be made part of it. 
 

 
 5. Update all necessary sections: 
  Make sure all information is current.  Revenue figures, advertising fund 

information and other date sensitive information must be supported with 
data from the previous year.   

 
 
 6. Financial Assurance requirements: 

If the franchisor is currently under a financial assurance requirement such 
as an escrow, deferral, surety bond, certificate of deposit or, in some 

http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/


cases, a guaranty of performance, and believes that its financial condition 
has improved enough to have the requirement lifted, it may not do so 
without prior written authorization from the Administrator.  To request a 
review and lift of the financial assurance requirement, please email the 
financial statements to the assigned examiner.   

   
 7. Illinois specific information: 

If the franchisor provides for Illinois specific information in the disclosure 
document by way of a state addendum, rider, etc., make certain that the 
addenda are included in the disclosure document and are referenced in 
the Table of Contents and on the Receipt page. 
 

 8. File on time: 
Annual Reports must be filed no later than one business day prior to the 
registration’s anniversary date. Failure to do so will result in a termination 
of the registration by administrative order.  The Administrator may 
consider a franchisor’s incomplete filing of its Annual Report as partial 
compliance and allow the franchisor a 14 day grace period to file the 
required documents as long as the franchisor timely files the $100 fee, a 
letter explaining why the Annual Report is incomplete, and states in that 
letter that it will not offer or sell franchises in Illinois until the Annual Report 
is complete.  If the Annual Report remains incomplete 30 days after it has 
been filed, the franchisor’s registration will be suspended by 
Administrative Order and if it is still incomplete 30 days after the 
Suspension, it will be terminated by administrative order. 

 
 9. Send to the correct address: 

Submit a paper filing to the following address: 
   Illinois Attorney General’s Office 
   Franchise Bureau 
   500 South Second Street 
   Springfield, Illinois 62706 
 
 10.   Understand our process:  

Annual Reports are effective when filed.  The franchisor will receive a 
letter acknowledging its receipt and advising of the effective date, file 
number and anniversary date.   

 
If you have any questions, you may contact the Bureau by telephone at (217) 782-4465.  
You may also email your assigned examiner at the address indicated on your 
correspondence. 
    


