

Crime Victims Compensation: Frequently Asked Questions by Sexual Assault Victims

These Frequently Asked Questions do not cover every situation. For all requirements and complete information, consult the Crime Victims Compensation Act, 740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at www.ilga.gov.

Who is eligible?

- A person who was sexually assaulted in Illinois.
- The spouse and parents of a person who was sexually assaulted in Illinois (for expenses such as their own counseling or loss of earnings while caring for the sexual assault victim).
- Solely for mental health treatment expenses, the victim's minor siblings or minor children (under the age of 18).

What are the general qualification requirements?

- Notify law enforcement within 7 days of the crime's occurrence.
- File an application within 2 years of the crime date (specific limited exceptions may apply).
- Cooperate with law enforcement to arrest and prosecute the offender
 - The following also satisfies the notification and cooperation requirements:
 - Obtaining a Plenary Order of Protection, Civil No Contact Order or Stalking No Contact Order
 - Having a sexual assault evidence collection kit done
- The victim must not have contributed to or provoked the crime.
- A victim who is in jail, in prison, on probation, or on mandatory supervised release for a felony conviction must wait until she or he is discharged from custody before compensation may be granted.

What types of expenses may the Crime Victims Compensation Program pay?

- Medical, hospital, and dental expenses.
- Mental health treatment expenses.
 - Services must be provided by a psychiatrist, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed clinical professional counselor, or a Christian Science practitioner/nurse. Services by an unlicensed person working with a licensed person cannot be paid.
- Lost wages (up to a maximum of \$1,250 per month) due to time missed from work that was not reimbursed by employer with sick, vacation, or personal paid time. The victim must be employed at the time of the crime.
- Accessibility costs (e.g., wheelchair, walker, crutches, shower stool, etc.).
- Costs associated with temporary lodging or relocation necessary as a result of the crime, including, but not limited to, the first month's rent and security deposit of the dwelling that the claimant relocated to and other reasonable relocation expenses incurred as a result of the crime.
- Loss of tuition for classes dropped as a result of the crime.
- Crime scene cleanup (does not include replacement of damaged property).
- Replacement services loss (i.e., domestic tasks that a victim used to perform, but is no longer able to perform due to the crime).
- Replacement costs for the following: locks and windows; prosthetic devices; eyeglasses and hearing aids damaged or necessary as a result of the crime; and, clothing and bedding taken as evidence by the police.

• The maximum total payments are limited to \$27,000 and several expenses have caps (e.g., loss of earnings as stated above).

Do I have to use insurance or other sources of payment?

Yes. The Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program is the payor of last resort. All other sources of payment must be exhausted before an award may be issued by the Crime Victims Compensation Program. Payment will not be recommended for expenses or losses that can be covered by any other available sources, such as medical/health, dental, or vision insurance, Public Aid, Medicare, discounts available under the Hospital Uninsured Patient Discount Act, Worker's Compensation Benefits, life insurance, auto insurance, restitution, and any other reasonable source.

What types of expenses cannot be paid by the Crime Victims Compensation Program?

- Any expenses not related to the crime
- Stolen, damaged or lost property (except locks and windows)
- Pain and suffering
- Attorney's fees

Do I get the money for compensation?

Payment will be reimbursed to you for your out-of-pocket expenses or directly reimbursed to the service providers if the bills are outstanding.

What happens when the Crime Victims Compensation Program receives my application?

- Your application will be reviewed.
- Our office will obtain the police report and other documents to determine your eligibility.
- You will receive a phone call from our office to conduct an interview.
- If you are eligible, you will receive a letter requesting that you submit proof of your losses within 30 days of receiving the letter.
- Our office will verify your losses and will make a recommendation to the Court of Claims.
- The Court of Claims will render a final decision based on the application and the Attorney General's recommendation.
- The final decision will be mailed to you and all payments will be issued by the Comptroller's Office.

If you have any questions please contact the Illinois Attorney General's Office Crime Victims Compensation Program at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130), by email at **crimevictims.services@ilag.gov** or visit our website at **www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov.**