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This guide was created by the Office of the 
Attorney General specifically to help inform 
employees about their rights in the workplace.  
It covers several laws that may impact 
employees in Illinois, such as when employees 
are entitled to overtime pay, what deductions 
can be taken from a paycheck, and the right to a 
discrimination-free workplace.

In 2019, the Office of the Attorney General 
initiated a new law to create within the Office a 
dedicated team of attorneys to enforce laws that 
protect workers in Illinois. The Illinois Attorney 
General’s Workplace Rights Bureau enforces 
these and other existing employment laws to 
protect Illinois workers.  

If you have questions about a practice going 
on in your workplace, I urge you to contact the 
Workplace Rights Bureau at 1-844-740-5076. 
Individuals with hearing or speech disabilities
can reach us by using the 7-1-1 relay service.

Kwame Raoul
Attorney General

If you believe your rights have been violated:

Contact the Workplace Rights Bureau of the 
Office of the Illinois Attorney General

844-740-5076 

Individuals with hearing or speech disabilities
can reach us by using the 7-1-1 relay service.

Contact the Illinois Department of Labor
312-793-2800

(TTY: 1-800-526-0844)

Contact the Illinois Department of Human Rights
312-814-6200

(TTY: 1-866-740-3953)

IMPORTANT:
Your immigration status is irrelevant to your rights 
under these laws. ANY worker can file a complaint.

An employer CANNOT retaliate against you for 
complaining about discrimination in the workplace or 

about not being paid correctly.
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Right to a Discrimination-Free Workplace
It is unlawful for an employer, employment agency, 
or labor organization to discriminate against 
you on the basis of your race, color, religion, 
sex, national origin, ancestry, citizenship status, 
age (40+), physical or mental disability, marital 
status, pregnancy, sexual orientation (including 
gender-related identity), order of protection status, 
unfavorable discharge from military service, military 
status, and arrest record.

Some examples of unlawful discrimination in the 
workplace include the following when they are 
made on the basis of a protected category:

•	 Failing or refusing to hire or promote;
•	 Discharging or demoting;
•	 Providing different pay or benefits;
•	 Failing to investigate or resolve complaints of 

sexual harassment;
•	 Failing to provide a reasonable accommodation 

to disabled or pregnant employees;
•	 Segregating jobs or work sites;
•	 Instituting “English-only” workplace polices.

Right to the Lawful Minimum Wage
All employees, including domestic workers, have 
the right to be paid at least the mandated minimum 
wage for all hours worked. Since 2010, the 
minimum wage rate in Illinois has been $8.25/hour, 
but will increase incrementally, as shown in the table 
below. 

For tipped workers, your employer can pay you at 
a lower “tip-credit rate” so long as your “tip-credit 
rate” PLUS your tips equals at least the regular 
minimum wage. 

The tipped minimum wage has been $4.95/hour, but 
will increase as shown in the table. 

Some municipalities require a higher minimum 
wage. 

Right to Overtime Pay
As an employee, you have a right be paid at an 
overtime rate of time-and-a-half your regular rate 
for all hours worked over 40 in a work week. Your 
overtime rate can be calculated by multiplying your 
current wage rate by 1.5. [Example, the overtime 
rate in January 2022 will be $12.00 x 1.5 = $18.00] 
If you are in a union, your overtime rules may 
differ. Some employees are exempt from overtime 
requirements. This exemption typically applies to 
managerial, administrative, or more professional 
positions.

Right to Prevailing Wage
If you perform construction work on public works 
projects, you must be paid at the hourly Prevailing 
Rate of Pay for the county where the work is 
performed. Prevailing wages are substantially higher 
than the minimum wage.

Examples of Common Wage Violations
The Workplace Rights Bureau has investigated and
stopped many instances of employers using schemes 
to keep workers from receiving the full wage that 
they should.

Fixed Salary Schemes: If you regularly work more 
than 40 hours per week, but are paid a fixed salary 
regardless of how many hours you work, you are 
likely being denied overtime.

Misclassification: An employer might misclassify a 
worker as an independent contractor rather than an 
employee in order to avoid providing the full slate 
of benefits and rights they would be entitled to 
including unemployment benefits and workers’
compensation.

Pre/Post-Shift Work, and Travel Time: 
•	 An employer must compensate you for all time 

worked, including work performed before the start 
or at the end of your scheduled shift. For example, 
if you must prepare your work station before the 
start or end of your shift, that work must be paid.

•	 Travel time after or before you perform physical 
labor or other work duties is compensable. For 
example, if you load tools and material to your 
truck in the morning, travel time to a construction 
site or in between construction sites that follow 
must be paid. 

Unlawful Deductions: Deductions from your wages 
must be authorized by you in writing at the time the 
deduction is taken. For example, re-occurring deduc-
tions for uniforms or equipment from your paycheck 
that are not regularly authorized may violate the law. 

Late Paychecks: You are entitled to regularly 
scheduled payment of wages for all hours worked 
during a pay period. If your employment ends, you 
are entitled to your final wages. Your employer 
cannot refuse to pay you because you quit, were 
terminated for cause, or owe the employer money..

State Minimum Wage Increase Schedule

Date Min.Wage Tipped 
Wage OT Rate OT Rate

Tipped

1/1/2020 $9.25 $5.55 $13.88 $10.18

7/1/2020 $10.00 $6.00 $15.00 $11.00

1/1/2021 $11.00 $6.60 $16.50 $12.10

1/1/2022 $12.00 $7.20 $18.00 $13.20

1/1/2023 $13.00 $7.80 $19.50 $14.30

1/1/2024 $14.00 $8.40 $21.00 $15.40

1/1/2025 $15.00 $9.00 $22.50 $16.50


