

# The Crime Victims Compensation Program Fact Sheet

The Crime Victims Compensation Program provides financial reimbursement to victims of violent crime who meet certain eligibility requirements. The program is governed by the Crime Victims Compensation Act, 740 ILCS 45/1 et seq.

Who is a victim? • • •	<ul> <li>Person killed or injured in Illinois</li> <li>Parent, spouse or child of a person killed or injured in Illinois</li> <li>Person killed or injured while attempting to aid a victim</li> <li>Person killed or injured in Illinois while assisting law enforcement</li> <li>Personal witness to a crime</li> <li>Person called as a witness by the prosecution to establish a nexus</li> <li>An Illinois resident injured in a country without a Compensation Program</li> <li>Person under the age of 18 who is the brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister of a person killed or injured in Illinois (For the purposes of counseling expenses only)</li> </ul>
Who is eligible for compensation?	Statutorily Defined Victims (see above) Dependents (for loss of support only) Any person that paid or became obligated to pay for the victim's expenses

# What violent crimes are compensable with the program?

Arson • Homicide • Assault • Human Trafficking • Battery • Involuntary Manslaughter • Child Pornography • Kidnapping • Criminal Sexual Abuse • Fleeing or Attempting to Elude a Peace Officer • Criminal Sexual Assault • Non-consensual Dissemination of Private Sexual Images • Desecration or Removal of Human Remains • Reckless Conduct • Dismembering of a Human Body • Stalking • Domestic Battery • Posting of Identifying or Graphic Information on Pornographic Internet Sites • Driving While Under the Influence • Exploitation of a Child • Violations of Protective Orders (Domestic Violence Orders of Protection, Civil No Contact Orders, and Stalking No Contact Orders) • Hate Crimes • Hit and Run of a Pedestrian/Person • Operating Vehicle Moved Solely by Human Power or Using a Mobility Device

### Reimbursement is available for the following types of crime-related expenses:

ELIGIBLE EXPENSES		
Funeral and Burial (up to \$10,000)	Medical/Hospital/Dental	Tattoo Removal
Lost Wages (up to \$2,400)	Counseling and Transportation	Accessibility
Loss of Dependent Support (up to \$2,400)	Tuition Loss Towing & Storage	Relocation
Crime Scene Cleanup	Replacement Costs	Replacement Service Loss

*The Illinois Crime Victim Compensation Program offers reimbursement up to \$45,000 (\$27,000 for crimes before 8/7/22) for expenses incurred by eligible victims as a result of a violent crime.* 

#### Where to Apply: Applications are available to download at: <u>https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/safer-communities/supporting-victims-of-crime/</u> <u>crime-victim-compensation/</u>

or Can be Submitted Online: <u>https://agforms.ilag.gov/Forms/CrimeVictimsCompensation</u>

### **Application Window**

Status at Time of the Crime	Application Window
Adult without a disability	<b>Five years</b> from the date of the crime or one year from criminal charge for the offense.
Minor	Three Years from turning 18
Adult with disability	Three Years from the removal of the disability

Applications submitted outside the prescribed eligibility window may be accepted if the Attorney General determines that the applicant had good cause for a delay.

### WHEN IN DOUBT....APPLY!

## For more information, contact the Crime Victims Assistance Line at 1-800-228-3368.

Individuals with hearing or speech disabilities can reach us by using the 7-1-1 relay service.