
CRIME  VICTIMS 
COMPENSATION PROGRAM

Crime Changes Things In Ways You Might Not Expect...

...We Can Help

Illinois Attorney General
Violence Prevention and Crime Victims Services Division



For more information, contact the
Crime Victims Assistance Line:

1-800-228-3368

Individuals with hearing or speech disabilities can reach us by using the 7-1-1 relay service.

Visit our website at:
IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000d et seq., prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national origin 
in programs receiving federal financial assistance. Persons who speak English as a second language who are applicants or recipients 
to programs receiving federal financial assistance, will be afforded language translation and interpretation services at no charge to the 
applicant or recipient.  If you believe you have been discriminated against in a program of any institution which receives Federal financial 
assistance, you should immediately contact the Federal agency providing such assistance.



Crime Victims
Compensation Program

What are the basic qualification requirements?
•	 File an application within 5 years of the crime date (3 years after age 18 for minors or 3 	
	 years from removal of a disability).
•	 Notify law enforcement within 72 hours of the crime’s occurrence. In cases of sexual 	
	 assault, sexual abuse, or human trafficking, notify law enforcement within 7 days.
•	 Cooperate with law enforcement to arrest and prosecute the offender.
•	 The following also satisfies the notification and cooperation requirements:

	○ Obtaining a Plenary Order of Protection, Civil No Contact Order or Stalking No 	
	 Contact Order

	○ Having a sexual assault evidence collection kit performed
	○ Engaging in a legal proceeding involving a claim that the applicant is a human 	
	 trafficking victim

	○ Medical treatment at a Medical Facility
	○ Report of psychological injuries to a Mental Health Provider
	○ Notification of physical injuries to a Mental Health Provider
	○ Notification and Cooperation criteria for use of force victims

•	 The victim must not be the offender in the criminal act and must not have provoked or 	
	 incited the crime.

Applications submitted outside the prescribed eligibility window may be accepted if the 
Attorney General determines that the applicant had good cause for a delay.

What violent crimes are compensable with the program?                                                                                                 
Crime of  Violence includes but is not limited to the following:

Arson • First Degree Murder • Involuntary Manslaughter • Reckless Homicide • Assault & Aggravated Assault 
• Battery & Aggravated Battery • Human Trafficking • Kidnapping • Child Pornography • Aggravated Criminal 
Sexual Abuse • Criminal Sexual Assault • Stalking • Domestic Battery • Driving While Under the Influence • 
Violations of Protective Orders (Domestic Violence Orders of Protection, Civil No Contact Orders, and 

Stalking No Contact Orders) • Hate Crimes • Hit and Run of a Pedestrian/Person • Hit and Run of Person 
Operating Vehicle Moved Solely by Human Power or Using a Mobility Device

(For a list of all eligible crimes of violence see 740 ILCS 45/2(c))

The Crime Victims Compensation Program provides financial reimbursement to victims of violent 
crime who meet certain eligibility requirements. The program is governed by the Crime Victims 
Compensation Act, 740 ILCS 45/1 et seq.



Who can apply and what type of compensation can be received?

When the eligible applicant is:

Compensation Available:

	� Person killed or injured
	� Spouse, parent, or child of a person killed 

or injured in this State
	� Person living in a dwelling in a relationship 

substantially similar to that of a parent, 
spouse, or child

	� Person killed or injured while attempting to 
aid a victim

	� Person killed or injured in Illinois while 
assisting law enforcement

	� Personal witness to a crime
	� Person called as a witness by the 

prosecution to establish a nexus
	� An Illinois resident injured in a country 

without a Compensation Program

	� Parent, spouse, or child of a deceased 
person whose body is dismembered or 
whose remains are desecrated as the result 
of a crime of violence

	� An individual who is injured or killed in 
an incident in which a law enforcement 
officer’s use of force caused bodily harm or 
death to that individual

	� An adult who is physically or mentally 
incapacitated if their guardian or caretaker 
is a statutorily defined victim

	� The legal guardian of a minor or of a 
person under legal disability that is a 
statutory victim. (Must be the Legal 
guardian of the minor or disabled person 
prior to the date of the crime)

All types of compensation resulting from the crime. Refer to list above.

What types of expenses may the Crime Victims Compensation Program pay?

Accessibility to Real and 
Personal  Property

Mental Health Treatment 
(Counseling)	

Crime Scene Clean Up
Funeral/Burial/Cremation/
Headstone $10,000 cap

Locks, Doors, and Windows	

Loss of Earning/Future 
Earnings $2,400/mo. or net
monthly earnings, if less

Loss of Support 	

Loss of Tuition	

Medical/Hospital/Dental

Replacement: Clothing and 
Bedding used as Evidence

Replacement: Prosthetic 
Appliance	

Replacement Services loss
$1,250 per month

Temporary Lodging or 
Relocation	

Trafficking Tattoo Removal	

Transportation

Towing and Storage	

Replacement: Eyeglasses & 
Hearing Aids

Legal Fees Up to $3,500
necessary solely because of 
the crime

The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Program offers reimbursement up to $45,000 ($27,000 for crimes
before 8/7/22) for expenses incurred by eligible victims as a result of a violent crime. 



When the eligible applicant is:

Compensation Available:

	� Person who is the grandparent, grandchild, 
brother, sister, half-brother or half-sister of 
a person killed or injured in the state as a 
result of a violent crime

	� A person who, at the time the crime 
occurred, resided in the same dwelling as 
the victim

•	 Psychological treatment of a mental or emotional condition caused or aggravated by the crime, 
•	 Loss of earnings for time off from work necessary to provide full time care for the injured victim,
•	 Relocation if the crime occurred within the dwelling of the applicant.

When the eligible applicant is:

When the eligible applicant is:

Compensation Available:

Compensation Available

Any person who was in a dating relationship with a person killed in this State as a result of a crime 
of violence

A person who assumes a legal obligation or voluntarily pays for a victim’s expenses 

Psychological treatment of a mental or emotional condition caused or aggravated by the crime

•	 Medical 
•	 Funeral or burial expenses

Dwelling means a person’s primary home. A person may be required to provide verification or proof of residence including, but not limited to, 
a lease agreement, utility bill, license registration, document showing the mailing address, pay stub, tax form, or notarized statement.

Dating relationship means a current, continuous, romantic, courtship, or engagement relationship, often characterized by actions of 
an intimate or sexual nature or an expectation of affection. “Dating relationship” does not include a casual acquaintanceship or ordinary 
fraternization between persons in a business or social context.



What happens when the Crime Victims Compensation Program
receives my application?

	h Your application will be reviewed.

	h Our office will obtain the police report and other documents necessary to determine your 
eligibility.

	h You will receive a phone call from our office to conduct an interview.

	h If you are eligible, you will receive a letter requesting that you submit proof of your losses 
within 45 days of receiving the letter.

	h Our office will verify your losses and will make a recommendation that will be reviewed by 
Court of Claims.

	h A letter will be mailed to you by our office with the award recommendation and all 
recommended payments will be issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

CVC CLAIMS PROCESSING AND PAYMENT

Where to  Apply

Applications can be submitted online:
https://forms.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/CrimeVictims_CompensationRequest

or

Applications are available to download at:
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/safer-communities/supporting-victims-of-crime/ crime-victim-

compensation/

http://www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov

https://forms.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/Forms/CrimeVictims_CompensationRequest
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/safer-communities/supporting-victims-of-crime/ crime-victim-comp
https://illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/safer-communities/supporting-victims-of-crime/ crime-victim-comp


Do I have to use 
insurance or other 
sources of payment?

What types of 
expenses cannot be 
paid by the Crime 
Victims Compensation 
Program?

Do I get the money
for compensation?

Rev. 11/24

Yes. The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Program is the payer of last 
resort. All other sources of payment must be exhausted before an award 
may be issued by the Crime Victims Compensation Program.

Payment will not be recommended for expenses or losses that can be 
covered by any other available sources , including the following: medical, 
health, dental, or vision insurance, Public Aid, Medicare, discounts 
available under the Hospital Uninsured Patient Discount Act, Worker’s 
Compensation Benefits, life insurance, auto insurance, restitution, and any 
other reasonable source.

• Any expenses not related to the crime

• Pain and suffering

• Stolen, damaged or lost property (except locks, doors and windows)

Payment will be reimbursed to you for your out-of-pocket expenses 
paid or directly reimbursed to the service providers if the bills are 
outstanding. Compensation is not available for expenses that have not 
been previously paid or billed by a vendor.

You can appeal the determination through the court of claims.  
Information regarding appeal processes will be included in a 
determination letter sent from the Attorney General’s office.

Notify the Attorney General’s office to update your contact information. 
If the office is unable to contact you, an award cannot be recommended.

Keep receipts, bills, and any other proof of payment for all items you are 
seeking to receive compensation for.

Once you find the documents required to receive compensation, contact 
the Attorney General’s office to request that your claim be reopened.

What if my claim is 
denied?

What if I change my 
address or phone 
number after I 
have submitted my 
application?

What proof of my 
expenses should I 
keep?

What if my claim 
was closed without 
payment because I 
could not find the 
bills or receipts?


