Violent crime is a sense-
less, often random act,
and we see far too much
of it in today s society. It
is not enough to ensure
that offenders receive
punishment under the
law. Victims and their
families need support as
they attempt to rebuild
lives torn apart by
tragedy.
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These Frequently Asked
Questions do not cover
every situation. For

all requirements and
complete information,
consult the Crime Victims
Compensation Act,

740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at
www.ilga.gov.

Office of the Illinois
Attorney General
Crime Victims
Compensation
100 West Randolph St.
13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
1-800-228-3368
TTY: 1-877-398-1130
crimevictimservices(@
atg.state.il.us

Crime Victim Compensation:
Frequently Asked Questions by
Domestic Violence Victims

What Is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?

The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Act provides eligible victims of violent crime
with up to $27,000 in financial assistance for certain out-of-pocket expenses resulting from
the crime.

Whe Can Apply for Compensation as a Result of Domestic Violence?

e The victim. The actual victim of domestic violence can apply for any
compensable expense, such as medical/hospital, counseling, loss of earnings and
relocation.

e The victim’s minor children. The victim’s minor children (under the age of 18)
are eligible for counseling expenses.

* Any individual who witnessed the domestic violence. Each witness should fill
out a separate application for compensation. To be considered for compensation,

a witness must be listed in the police report.

What Must a Domestic Violence Victim Do To Be Eligible for Compensation?

v" Notify law enforcement. Typically, notification must occur within 72 hours of the
crime. However, a domestic violence victim can meet this requirement by obtain-
ing an Order of Protection after the incident. If you have the Order, send a copy
to the Office of the Illinois Attorney General.

v’ File the application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the
filing of a criminal charge, whichever is later. A separate application must be com-
pleted for each crime date.

v' The victim and claimant must cooperate with law enforcement officials in the
apprehension and criminal prosecution of the offender. A domestic violence
victim is considered to have cooperated if the victim obtained an Order of
Protection after the incident.

v" The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrongful
act; being the offender or accomplice of the offender; or substantially provoking
the incident.

v" An individual is not eligible for payment until the victim is released from proba-
tion, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a correctional
institution. However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the date of the
crime or within 1 year of the criminal charge.
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What Expenses Are Eligible for Reimbursement?

The Compensation Program may reimburse the following expenses if they are necessary due to the crime, and if no
other sources of reimbursement are available. Caps or limits may apply.
v Medical/Hospital and Dental Expenses

v Mental Health Counseling

v" Loss of Earnings (up to $1,250/month)

v’ Relocation (may include temporary lodging, first month’s rent, security deposit, moving van and storage)

v Replacement Costs (hearing aids, eyeglasses, replacement of clothing/bedding taken as evidence and locks/win-
dows damaged as a result of the incident)

v Crime Scene Clean-up and Accessibility & Usability of Property (wheelchairs, ramps, etc.)

v" Loss of Tuition

v Replacement Services Loss (up to $1,250/month)

v' Funeral/Burial Expenses (up to $7,500)

v" Loss of Support (up to $1,250/month)

v' Transportation to and from Medical and Counseling Treatment Facilities

What If There Is Insurance or Reimbursement from Other Sources?

The Compensation Program is the “payer of last resort.” If any other sources of reimbursement are available, the
sources must be used before any Compensation Program payment can be made. Applicants are responsible for in-
forming the Program of all available reimbursement sources, including:

v’ Medical/health, dental, vision, and life insurance

v’ Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act benefits

v" Hospital Uninsured Patient Discount Act benefits

v' Public Program benefits (Public Aid, Medicare, Worker’s Compensation Benefits, etc.)

v" Auto insurance

v" Court-ordered restitution and civil lawsuit recoveries

Does the Money Go Directly to the Victim?

Reimbursement is made to the victim for out-of-pocket expenses, or to any person who paid the victim’s expenses.
Reimbursement may also be paid directly to service providers, such as hospitals, doctors, funeral homes and others,
for expenses incurred by the victim as a result of the crime.

How Does the Process Work? How Do You Obtain Referrals or Check Status of a Claim?

To file an application, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130)
or download the application at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cve.html. Once the application is submit-
ted, it will be given a claim number. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General will review the information on the
application and will request additional information and documentation to determine if you are eligible for the Com-
pensation Program. The Office of the Illinois Attorney General makes a recommendation to the Court of Claims and
the Court of Claims will render a decision based on the application and the Office of the Illinois Attorney General’s
recommendation. A copy of the decision will be mailed to the applicant (also referred to as the claimant). All pay-
ments are then issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

If you have any questions about the Compensation Program or if you would like referrals for counseling or other
services, please contact our office at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130) or visit our website at
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov. Completed applications and other forms should be returned to:

Office of the Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation
100 West Randolph St., 13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601
crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us




