
Crime Victim Compensation:

Violent crime is a sense-
less, often random act, 
and we see far too much 
of it in today’s society. It 
is not enough to ensure 
that offenders receive 
punishment under the 
law. Victims and their 
families need support as 
they attempt to rebuild 
lives torn apart by 
tragedy.
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These Frequently Asked 
Questions do not cover 
every situation.  For 
all requirements and 
complete information, 
consult the Crime Victims 
Compensation Act, 
740 ILCS 45/1 et seq. at 
www.ilga.gov.
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What Is the Crime Victims Compensation Act?
 
The Illinois Crime Victims Compensation Act provides eligible victims of violent crime with 
up to $27,000 in financial assistance for certain out-of-pocket expenses resulting from the 
crime. 

Who Is a Crime Victim? 
A person killed or injured in Illinois as a result of a violent crime.•	
The spouse and parent of a person killed or injured in Illinois as a result of a violent 		 •	

	 crime.
A person killed or injured in Illinois while attempting to assist a crime victim.•	
An individual who personally witnessed a violent crime in Illinois.•	
An Illinois resident who became a victim of a violent crime in a country 	that does 		 •	

	 not have a compensation fund for crime victims.
A person under the age of 18 who is the brother, sister, half brother, half 	sister, 			  •	

	 child or stepchild of a person killed or injured in Illinois (for mental health         			
	 treatment only).

What Is a Violent Crime for Purposes of the Compensation Program?

First Degree Murder	      •    Battery  	          •   Criminal Sexual Assault•	
Second Degree Murder	      •    Assault             •   Criminal Sexual Abuse•	
Involuntary Manslaughter	     •    Hate Crime      •   Exploitation of a Child•	
Reckless Conduct		      •    Stalking	          •   Driving Under the Influence   •	
Child Pornography	      •    Arson	           •   Domestic Battery •	
Hit and Run of Pedestrians    •    Kidnapping     •   Violation of Order of Protection,•	
Fleeing or Attempting to 			                Civil No Contact Order,			  •	

	 Elude a Police Officer			                 Stalking No Contact Order

What Must the Claimant Do To Be Eligible for Compensation? 

Notify law enforcement.  Typically, notification must occur within 72 hours of the crime 	99
	 or within 7 days for sexual assaults.  A victim can also get an Order of Protection, a 		
	 Civil No Contact Order, a Stalking No Contact Order or complete a sexual assault evi-		
	 dence collection kit.

File an application within 2 years of the date of the crime or within 1 year of the 	filing 		 99
	 of a criminal charge, whichever is later.

Cooperate with law enforcement officials in the apprehension and criminal prosecution 		 99
	 of the offender.  However, it is not necessary for an offender to be apprehended for a 		
	 victim to be eligible for the Compensation Program.

Cooperate with the Office of the Illinois Attorney General and submit and verify infor-		 99
	 mation about the crime victim’s compensation claim.

The victim must not have contributed to his/her injury by: engaging in a wrongful act, 		 99
	 being the offender or accomplice of the offender, or substantially provoking the incident.

An individual is not eligible to be paid compensation until the victim is released 			 99
	 from probation, parole, mandatory supervised release for a felony or from a correc-		
	 tional institution.  However, the claim must still be filed within 2 years of the date 		
	 of the crime or 1 year of the criminal charge, whichever is later. 

Frequently Asked Questions



What Expenses Are Eligible for Reimbursement? 

The Compensation Program may reimburse the following expenses if they are necessary due to the crime, and if no 
other sources of reimbursement are available.  Caps or limits may apply.

Medical/Hospital and Dental Expenses99
Mental Health Counseling99
Loss of Earnings (up to $1,250/month)99
Relocation (may include temporary lodging, first month’s rent, security deposit, moving van and storage)99
Replacement Costs (hearing aids, eyeglasses, replacement of clothing/bedding taken as evidence and locks/win-		99

	 dows damaged as a result of the incident)
Crime Scene Clean-up and Accessibility & Usability of Property (wheelchairs, ramps, etc.)99
Loss of Tuition99
Replacement Services Loss (up to $1,250/month)99
Funeral/Burial Expenses (up to $7,500) 99
Loss of Support (up to $1,250/month)99
Transportation to and from Medical and Counseling Treatment Facilities99

What If There Is Insurance or Reimbursement from Other Sources? 

The Compensation Program is the “payer of last resort.”  If any other sources of reimbursement are available, the 
sources must be used before any Compensation Program payment can be made.  Applicants are responsible for in-
forming the Program of all available reimbursement sources, including:

Medical/health, dental, vision, and life insurance 99
Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Act benefits99
Hospital Uninsured Patient Discount Act benefits99
Public Program benefits (Public Aid, Medicare, Worker’s Compensation Benefits, etc.)99
Auto insurance99
Court-ordered restitution and civil lawsuit recoveries99

Does the Money Go Directly to the Victim?
 
Reimbursement is made to the victim for out-of-pocket expenses, or to any person who paid the victim’s expenses.  
Reimbursement may also be paid directly to service providers, such as hospitals, doctors, funeral homes and others, 
for expenses incurred by the victim as a result of the crime. 

How Does the Process Work?  How Do You Obtain Referrals or Check Status of a Claim?

To file an application, contact the Crime Victims Compensation Bureau at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130) 
or download the application at www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/victims/cvc.html.  Once the application is submit-
ted, it will be given a claim number.  The Office of the Illinois Attorney General will review the information on the 
application and will request additional information and documentation to determine if you are eligible for the Com-
pensation Program.  The Office of the Illinois Attorney General makes a recommendation to the Court of Claims and 
the Court of Claims will render a decision based on the application and the Office of the Illinois Attorney General’s 
recommendation.  A copy of the decision will be mailed to the applicant (also referred to as the claimant).  All pay-
ments are then issued by the Illinois Comptroller’s Office.

If you have any questions about the Compensation Program or if you would like referrals for counseling or other 
services, please contact our office at 1-800-228-3368 (TTY: 1-877-398-1130) or visit our website at 
www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov.  Completed applications and other forms should be returned to:

Office of the Illinois Attorney General
Crime Victims Compensation

100 West Randolph St., 13th Floor
Chicago, IL 60601

crimevictimservices@atg.state.il.us


