
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Managed Care Reform and Patient Rights Act gives Illinois consumers more control of their health 
care by placing stricter requirements on HMOs, insurance companies, doctors, and other health care 
providers. The Act also provides consumers with more control of their health care by giving them specific 
rights. 

 
One of the rights afforded by the Act is the right to receive continuing care by your physician, under 
certain circumstances, when your health plan changes, and your doctor is not included in the new plan 
or your physician terminates his or her relationship with the health care plan. 

 
The Act generally applies to state regulated managed care plans, including all state regulated HMOs.  
The Act does not apply to indemnity health insurance policies, plans that offer only dental or vision 
coverage, Preferred Provider Administrators, ERISA plans, care provided pursuant to the Workers’ 
Compensation Act or the Workers’ Occupational Diseases Act, or not-for-profit voluntary health services 
plans with health maintenance organization authority in existence as of January 1, 1999, that are 
affiliated with a union and that only extend coverage to union members and their dependents. 

 
Continuity of Care, Termination, and Non-Renewal of Your Current Treating Physician 

 
What happens if my health care plan changes and my current physician is not included in the new 
health care plan? Do I need to find a new physician right away? 
No. As long as your current physician agrees to follow the new health care plan’s policies and procedures, 
you may continue to seek treatment from your current physician for a period of 90 days or, if you are in 
your third trimester of pregnancy, you can keep your current physician through your delivery and 
postpartum care directly related to the delivery. 

 
However, your health care plan has the right to refuse to pay for services once notice has been given if your 
current physician was terminated for situations involving imminent harm to a patient or a final disciplinary 
action by a state licensing board. 

 
What happens if my current physician decides to leave my health care plan? Do I have to stop seeing my 
physician? 
No. As long as your current physician agrees to follow the health care plan’s policies and procedures, you 
may continue to seek treatment from your current physician for a period of 90 days or, if you are in your 
third trimester of pregnancy, you can keep your current physician through your delivery and postpartum 
care directly related to the delivery. 

 
However, your health care plan has the right to refuse to pay for services once notice has been sent if the 
physician does not remain within the health care plan’s service area. 

Continuity of Care 
Your Rights Under the Illinois Managed 

Care Reform and Patient Rights Act 



How much notice does my health care plan have to give me for termination or non-renewal of my health 
care provider? 
Your health care plan must give you 60 days notice of termination or non-renewal of a health care 
provider. However, immediate written notice may be provided if a health care provider has been 
disciplined by a state licensing board. 

 
CONTINUITY OF CARE*  

 
Physician plans to leave the health plan’s provider network.  

(but remains within the health plan’s service area) 
▼ 

Within 60 days or more prior to leaving, 
health care plan must notify enrollee. 

Notice must include: name & address to which an enrollee may direct 
comments and concerns regarding non-renewal or termination. 

▼ 
Enrollee CAN CONTINUE TO SEEK TREATMENT from current doctor 

for a period of 90 days from receipt of notice from health care plan if current 
physician agrees to follow health care plan policies and procedures; 

OR 
if enrollee is in her third trimester of pregnancy, she can keep her current doctor 

through delivery and postpartum care directly related to the delivery. 
(This also applies to a new enrollee whose doctor is not a member of the network.) 

 
* Does not apply to termination of a contract in situations involving imminent harm to a patient or a final 
disciplinary action by a state licensing board. 

 
If you believe you were denied services to which you were entitled or require assistance in pursuing your 
appeal, contact the Illinois Attorney General’s Health Care Helpline at 1-877-305- 5145. 

 
Please visit 

www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov 
 

 
Chicago 

1-800-386-5438 
Springfield 

1-800-243-0618 
Carbondale 

1-800-243-0607 

 

Individuals with hearing or speech disabilities can reach us by using the 7-1-1 relay service. 
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